• Can I send my kids to you? Do you do tutoring?
    Yes. Language at home is in charge of that though.
  • Why is there always so much homework?
    In our opinion we don’t give too much homework. In order to use the lesson time we have effectively and well, we often assign reading and writing assignments as homework so we can concentrate on listening and speaking skills during the lessons. In all fairness we should add that no one can learn a language without doing any homework because the time spent with the teacher is just too short; 90 minutes each week just isn’t enough. There’s a rule of thumb that says, if you really want to learn the language, you should spend ninety minutes to two hours between the weekly lessons revising the material (homework, learning vocabulary, and so on).
  • Why is your logo so dark? Why does your watermark stand out so much?
    Put simply: in order to make illegal photocopying more difficult. Unfortunately we’ve come to discover over the years that instructors from other companies had copied and used our worksheets, scripts, and vocabulary cards in their own courses without our permission. We’ve been told that their photocopying our material is a sign of our quality, however – after we’ve spent long hours creating those materials – we really don’t want our competition to use them without our permission.
  • Why do you have a new logo?
    The old logo wasn’t bad; it served us well and we were quite successful with it. However, many potential customers couldn’t really work out what it stood for. Although the word “language” is in our company name, some people didn’t realise that we’re a language school and not – as one person surmised – a beauty school. We thought our restructuring to become a sole proprietorship was a fitting opportunity to adopt a new logo. And we did.
  • Do you only speak German in the beginners’ courses?
    No. We speak as much English as possible in the beginners’ courses, but we don’t overdo it because we don’t want to overtax the students too much. Some things, e.g. grammar, we have to explain in German at the beginning; if we didn’t, the course participants would get frustrated and lose any interest they have in the language.
  • Why do you have music playing in the background in some courses?
    First, classrooms are usually much too quiet; they are, more often than not, kept artificially quiet. The result of that is that the course participants then have no chance to understand the language acoustically when they hear the language in normal, loud surroundings; the new language is drowned out by traffic, by colleagues on the phone, or the hum of air conditioners.
    Second, music has a relaxing effect and – in many cases – can help people concentrate; it’s especially good when courses are working in small groups because background sound helps isolate the groups so they don’t feel disturbed by the conversations going on in other groups.
  • Do you people work according to syllabi?
    It may appear to be the case  at times as if we didn’t have any syllabi and our lessons are chaotic. This is, however, not the case: we invest a lot of time in each hour of each lesson – even if it doesn’t look that way. We admit that in courses in which the students don’t have their own scripts or books, it could occasionally seem to be the case the teacher or instructor is really just flying by the seat of their pants the whole time: for example, grammar exercises are followed directly by a vocabulary game. For the record: we vary the pace in the lessons on purpose, so the lessons aren’t merely effective learning experiences but also interesting ones as well. People learn better when they’re not bored out of their minds.

• Kann ich mein Kind zu Euch schicken? Gebt Ihr Nachhilfe?
    Ja. Dafür ist aber Language at home zuständig.
  • Warum gibt’s so viele Hausaufgaben?
    Unserer Meinung nach geben wir nicht übermäßig viele Hausaufgaben auf. Damit wir die Unterrichtsstunden gut und effektiv nutzen können, geben wir öfters die schriftlichen und Leseaufgaben als Hausaufgabe auf, damit wir im Unterricht uns aufs Sprechen und Reden konzentrieren können. Fairerweise müssen wir hinzufügen, dass man ganz ohne Hausaufgaben keine Sprache lernen kann, weil die Zeit, die man mit der Lehrkraft verbringt, zu knapp ist; 90 Minuten jede Woche reicht einfach nicht. Eine Faustregel besagt, dass man etwa anderthalb bis 2 Stunden zwischen den wöchentlichen Unterrichtsterminen mit dem Nachbereiten des Stoffs (Hausaufgaben, Vokabeln, usw.) verbringen sollte, wenn man die Sprache erfolgreich erlernen will.
  • Warum ist Euer Logo so dunkel? als Wasserzeichen so augenfällig?
    Kurz und knapp gesagt: damit das unerlaubte Fotokopieren erschwert wird. Leider kam es bereits ein paar Mal vor, dass betriebsfremde Lehrkräfte unsere Arbeitsblätter, Skripte und Vokabelkarten ohne unsere Erlaubnis vervielfältigt und im Unterricht eingesetzt haben.  Man sagt uns, dass wir das Fotokopieren unserer Materialien als ein Zeichen der Qualität deuten sollten, aber, nachdem wir reichlich Zeit bei der Erstellung der Skripte verbracht haben, möchten wir nicht, dass Konkurrenzunternehmen sie ohne Erlaubnis benutzen.
  • Warum habt Ihr ein neues Logo?
    Das alte Logo war nicht schlecht; wir sind damit jahrelang sehr gut und sehr erfolgreich „gefahren“. Allerdings konnten viele potenziellen Kunden nichts damit anfangen. Trotz des Wortes „Language“ in unserem Firmennamen wussten manche nicht, dass wir eine Sprachschule – und nicht wie einmal falsch geraten eine Friseurschule – sind. Die Umfirmierung von einer GbR sahen wir als die passende Gelegenheit, ein neues Logo einzuführen.
  • Wird in den Anfängerkursen nur deutsch gesprochen?
    Nein. Wir sprechen in den Anfängerkursen so viel Englisch wie möglich, aber nicht so viel, dass die Teilnehmer überfordert sind. Manche Sachen, z. B. Grammatik, müssen wir anfangs auf Deutsch erklären, sonst werden die Teilnehmer frustriert und verlieren die jegliche Freude an der Sprache.
  • Warum wird Musik in manchen Kursen im Hintergrund gespielt?
    Erstens: Klassenzimmer sind in der Regel viel zu leise; sie werden allzu oft künstlich still gehalten. Die Folge dessen ist, dass Teilnehmer dann absolut keine Chance haben, die Sprache akustisch zu verstehen, wenn sie sie in einer normalen, lauten Umgebung hören; die neue Sprache geht vor dem Stadtverkehr, dem Telefonat des Kollegen oder dem Summen der Klimaanlage unter.
    Zweitens: Musik wirkt entspannend und – für viele – auch konzentrationsfördernd; bei Gruppenaufgaben ist ein gewisser „Klangteppich“ ebenfalls ganz nützlich, da die einzelnen Gruppen dann nicht durch die Gespräche anderer Gruppen gestört werden.
  • Sagt mal, richtet Ihr Euch eigentlich nach Lehrplänen?
    Manchmal mag es so aussehen, als hätten wir keinen Lehrplan und seien etwas chaotisch. Das ist aber nicht der Fall: hinter jeder Unterrichtsstunde steckt viel Arbeit – auch wenn es nicht so aussieht. Zugegeben, in Kursen, wo die Teilnehmer keine eigenen Skripte oder Lehrbücher vor sich haben, mag es gelegentlich so aussehen, dass die Lehrkraft die Stunde „extrem abwechslungsreich“ gestaltet: es werden, zum Beispiel, Grammatikübungen gemacht und gleich darauf wird ein Vokabelspiel gespielt. Dieser Abwechslungsreichtum ist auf jeden Fall gewollt, damit die Unterrichtsstunden nicht nur effektiv sondern auch kurzweilig über die sprichwörtliche Bühne gehen können. Man lernt einfach besser, wenn es einem nicht totlangweilig ist.